What is the Seanad Register?

The Seanad Éireann Register, published the 1st of June each year, is a list of the names, addresses and qualifications of National University of Ireland (NUI) graduates, other than honorary graduates, who are citizens of Ireland and who have registered to vote in Seanad Éireann elections (NUI constituency).

Registration on the register is not automatic; graduates must claim to be registered.

How Can I Register?

Graduates must complete, sign and return a Registration Claim Form to NUI.

Please note that your witness may be anybody.

English version | Irish version

Completed forms can be scanned or photographed on your smartphone, attached to an email and sent to:

Alternatively, completed forms can also be returned by post to:

National University of Ireland

Records Office

49 Merrion Square

Dublin 2 D02 V583


What institutions comprise the NUI constituency?

The Constituent Universities, Recognized Colleges and Colleges which were formerly Recognized Colleges (the latter only for the period when they were within the NUI federation). Please see Institutions in the NUI Seanad Éireann Constituency page.


Institutions in the NUI Seanad
Eiireann Constituency

The NUI Constituency comprises graduates of the following institutions who otherwise fulfil the requirements laid down in the Seanad Electoral (University Members) Acts, 1937 – 2015:

NUI Constituent Universities

University College Dublin - National University of Ireland, Dublin (University College Dublin)
University College, Cork - National University of Ireland, Cork (University College Cork)
National University of Ireland, Galway (formerly University College Galway)
Maynooth University - National University of Ireland, Maynooth (formerly St. Patrick’s College Maynooth)

NUI Recognized Colleges

Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Recognition granted, July 14th 1977
Institute of Public Administration Recognition granted January 16th 2001 (First NUI conferring in 2003) (From September 2011-2018, a constituent College of UCD) Recognition re-established from September 2018

Colleges Linked with Constituent Universities

National College of Art and Design Dublin Recognition granted July 1st 1996 (First NUI conferring in 2000)
Institute of Public Administration Recognition granted January 16th 2001 Re-constituted as College of a Constituent University (UCD) from September 2011 to September 2018 Recognition re-established as recognized college of NUI from September 2018
Shannon College of Hotel Management (now a School in the College of Business, Public Policy and Law at NUI Galway) Recognition granted November 9th 2000 (First NUI conferring in 2005)
St. Angela's College, Sligo Recognition granted, April 13th 1978 Re-constituted as College of a Constituent University (NUI, Galway) from January 1st 2006.
Burren College of Art
Institute of Banking A recognized College of University College Dublin

Institutions which were formerly NUI Recognized Colleges

Mary Immaculate College of Education, Limerick Recognition granted, April 17th 1975 (College of Limerick University as of October 1994)
NIHE, Limerick March 11th 1976 - December 15th 1977 (re-constituted as University of Limerick, by Act, 1989)
Our Lady of Mercy College, Carysfort Recognition granted, April 17th 1975 – 1988
St. Patrick's College of Education, Drumcondra Recognition granted, April 17th, 1975 (College of Dublin City University as of October 1995)
Thomond College of Education, Limerick December 9th 1976 - December 15, 1977
St. Patrick's College Maynooth February 23rd 1910 – June 1997
St. Angela’s College of Education, Sligo April 1978 – December 2005
Milltown Institute of Theology and Philosophy Member Institution from September 1st t 2005 - 1st July 2015 (First NUI conferring in October 2006) (Last NUI conferring October 2016)
Uversity Recognition granted September 1st 2013 (First NUI conferring, 18 November 2015) (Last NUI Conferring,14 November 2017)